Skip to main content

Certificate of additional polio vaccination

Extra measures for certain countries.


Image 1/1 : Stop polio

Polio is an infection caused by a virus. Thanks to vaccination campaigns worldwide, the disease is almost eradicated, except in a few countries.

To avoid the virus spreading from these countries, the World Health Organisation (WHO) has imposed some extra preventive measures.

  • All travelers (of all ages) staying more than 4 weeks in countries where WPV1, cVDPV1 or cVPDP3 exist, with risk of international diffusion, have to be vaccinated against polio. This vaccine has to be administered at least 4 weeks and maximum 12 months before leaving one of these countries. Administration of the vaccine has to be documented in the International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis (on the pages 4 and 5 reserved for mandatory vaccines):​
    • Afghanistan (WPV1)
    • Madagascar (cVDPV1)
    • Malawi (WPV1)
    • Pakistan (WPV1)
    • Yemen (cVDPV1)
  • For all travelers staying more than 4 weeks in one of the following countries with risk of cVDPV2, with risk of international diffusion, this supplementary vaccine is recommended but not obliged. This concerns the following countries:
    • Benin
    • Burkina Faso
    • Cameroon
    • Central African Republic
    • Chad
    • Congo (Brazaville)
    • Democratic Republic of Congo
    • Djibouti
    • Egypt
    • Ethiopia
    • Gambia
    • Guinea (Conakry)
    • Guinea (Bissau)
    • Iran
    • Liberia
    • Mauritania
    • Mozambique
    • Niger
    • Nigeria
    • Senegal
    • Sierra Leone
    • Somalia
    • South Sudan
    • Tajikistan
    • Uganda
    • Ukraine

Possible vaccines

  • Imovax® Polio
  • Revaxis®
  • Boostrix-Polio®
  • Tetravac®
  • Infanrix-IPV ®
  • Hexyon®
  • Infanrix-Hexa ®


Meer nieuws over