Our history

The Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM) has been around for over a century. Initially, we trained doctors and nurses for Congo. Now we are an international reference for education, medicine, science and global health.
duden

Old villa in Brussels

In 1906, King Leopold II founded the School for Tropical Diseases in a Brussels villa. He wanted to train doctors and nurses to work in the Free State of Congo.

Tropical institutes also sprung up in England, France, Germany, the Netherlands and Portugal.

The School for Tropical Disease was not officially linked to a clinic at the time. At the time, patients were received at the Villa Coloniale in Watermael-Boitsfort.

hoofdgebouw-archieffoto

Art deco in Antwerp

In 1931, the school merged with the Clinic Leopold II for Tropical Diseases and, under the impetus of the future Leopold III, moved to the characteristic art deco building in Antwerp, a stone's throw from the Congo docks.

The Prince Leopold Institute of Tropical Medicine, abbreviated as the Institute of Tropical Medicine, was born.

For a long time, ITM remained primarily a training institute for people going to the tropics, and a hospital for people returning from it,

Rondetafelconferentie-te-Brussel-in-januari-1960

Decolonisation

Congo gained independence in 1960. The ITG had to reorient itself. It was now no longer training colonials, but development helpers.

In 1964, we expanded our offerings to tropical veterinary medicine.

Our students increasingly came from all over the world. And our professors also taught in developing countries.

guido-van-der-groen-1976

Scientific research

Academic education cannot exist without scientific research. That is why, from the 1970s onwards, we conducted much more research in the developing countries themselves.

The result? We also started providing medical assistance, working with local researchers, institutes and authorities.

Besides treating and preventing diseases, we also fought their socio-economic factors.

We started studying epidemics and designing public health systems. This laid the foundation for the Department of Public Health.

Res-07-tuberculose-Ringouts

From tropical to global medicine

Neglected diseases such as dengue, sleeping sickness and leishmaniasis affect millions of people every year. Due to globalisation and climate change, they are evolving from tropical to global diseases. And we are following that evolution closely.

In 1976, a mysterious deadly disease broke out in Yambuku in what was then Zaire. ITM scientists such as Peter Piot and Guido van der Groen went on site with an international team and established the first Ebola outbreak. Since then, the ITM has been monitoring new outbreaks. When Ebola began to emerge in the north in 2014-2016, our expertise became a national reference.

Institutes of tropical medicine have been seeking cures for sexually transmitted diseases since their inception. So, since the 1980s, also for AIDS. In fact, our researchers discovered that AIDS also rages in Africa and laid the foundation of current international research on AIDS and HIV.

In 2013, we were awarded management of the world's largest collection of tuberculosis samples by the WHO. And in 2016, the same organisation recognised a shorter treatment for the disease developed at ITM by Professor Armand Van Deun.

In recent years, we have been conducting innovative research on COVID-19, pushing for the complete elimination of sleeping sickness, closely monitoring antibiotic resistance and closely monitoring the arrival of exotic mosquito species in Belgium. Annually, we carry out over 40 international projects, publish more than 400 peer reviewed publications and coordinate dozens of clinical trials.

100-jaar-ITG

Expansion

By 2001, three times more scientists worked at ITM than at the beginning. So we started looking for an additional campus. Coincidentally, the nuns further down the Sint-Rochusstraat sold their seventeenth-century convent. A beautiful protected monument that we were able to transform into a modern teaching campus with the financial support of the Department of Monuments and Sites, the National Lottery and the Department of Education. These renovation works were finished in 2006, just in time for our centenary.

A major reform took place in 2012. The five scientific departments were reduced to three. The Departments of Parasitology, Microbiology, Veterinary Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Public Health were reduced to the Departments of Biomedical Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Public Health. Thematically, we will from now on speak of the "three Ps": "pathogens", "patients" and "populations". In this way, we aim to increase scientific excellence and operational efficiency.

In 2021, we started a thorough analysis of our infrastructure. This resulted in the Buildings Master Plan, which looked at all aspects of the management of our buildings. The Master Plan guides future renovations and expansions, with scientific innovation, sustainability and heritage management in mind.

tuberculosis-lab-itm-1

Centre of excellence

Today we strive to stand at the international forefront in research, education and services with the ultimate aim to solve actual health problems.

ITM is an internationally renowned, but we are even more than that: a hub in an international network with dozens of partner institutes.

We help them build capacity in research and healthcare. And together we strive for equal chances at a healthy life for all.

Notre histoire

L'Institut de Médecine Tropicale (IMT) existe depuis plus d'un siècle. Au départ, nous formions des médecins et des infirmières pour le Congo. Aujourd'hui, nous sommes une référence internationale en matière d'éducation, de médecine, de science et de santé mondiale.
duden

Ancienne villa à Bruxelles

En 1906, le roi Léopold II a fondé l'École des maladies tropicales dans une villa de Bruxelles. Il voulait former des médecins et des infirmières pour travailler dans l'État libre du Congo.

Des instituts tropicaux ont également vu le jour en Angleterre, en France, en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et au Portugal.L'École des maladies tropicales n'était pas officiellement liée à une clinique à l'époque.

À l'époque, les patients étaient reçus à la Villa Coloniale de Watermael-Boitsfort.

hoofdgebouw-archieffoto

L'Art déco à Anvers

En 1931, l'école fusionne avec la Clinique Léopold II des Maladies Tropicales et, sous l'impulsion du futur Léopold III, déménage dans le bâtiment art déco caractéristique d'Anvers, à deux pas des quais du Congo.

L'Institut de Médecine Tropicale Prince Léopold, en abrégé l'Institut de Médecine Tropicale, était né.

Pendant longtemps, l'IMT est resté principalement un institut de formation pour les personnes se rendant sous les tropiques, et un hôpital pour celles qui en revenaient,

Rondetafelconferentie-te-Brussel-in-januari-1960

Décolonisation

Le Congo accède à l'indépendance en 1960. L'ITG doit se réorienter. Il ne s'agit plus de former des coloniaux, mais des coopérants.

En 1964, nous avons élargi notre offre à la médecine vétérinaire tropicale.

Nos étudiants venaient de plus en plus du monde entier. Et nos professeurs enseignaient également dans les pays en développement.

guido-van-der-groen-1976

Recherche scientifique

L'enseignement académique ne peut exister sans la recherche scientifique. C'est pourquoi, à partir des années 1970, nous avons mené beaucoup plus de recherches dans les pays en développement eux-mêmes.

Le résultat ? Nous avons également commencé à fournir une assistance médicale, en collaboration avec des chercheurs, des instituts et des autorités locales.

Outre le traitement et la prévention des maladies, nous avons également combattu leurs facteurs socio-économiques.Nous avons commencé à étudier les épidémies et à concevoir des systèmes de santé publique.

C'est ainsi qu'ont été jetées les bases du département de la santé publique.

Res-07-tuberculose-Ringouts

De la médecine tropicale à la médecine mondiale

Les maladies négligées telles que la dengue, la maladie du sommeil et la leishmaniose touchent des millions de personnes chaque année. En raison de la mondialisation et du changement climatique, elles sont en train de passer du statut de maladies tropicales à celui de maladies mondiales.

En 1976, une mystérieuse maladie mortelle s'est déclarée à Yambuku, dans ce qui était alors le Zaïre. Des scientifiques de l'IMT tels que Peter Piot et Guido van der Groen se sont rendus sur place avec une équipe internationale et ont établi le premier foyer d'Ebola. Depuis lors, l'IMT surveille les nouvelles épidémies. Lorsque Ebola a commencé à émerger dans le nord en 2014-2016, notre expertise est devenue une référence nationale.

Les instituts de médecine tropicale cherchent depuis leur création des remèdes aux maladies sexuellement transmissibles. Ainsi, depuis les années 1980, également pour le sida. En effet, nos chercheurs ont découvert que le sida sévissait aussi en Afrique et ont posé les bases de la recherche internationale actuelle sur le sida et le VIH.

En 2013, l'OMS nous a confié la gestion de la plus grande collection d'échantillons de tuberculose au monde. Et en 2016, la même organisation a reconnu un traitement plus court de la maladie développé à l'IMT par le professeur Armand Van Deun.

Ces dernières années, nous avons mené des recherches innovantes sur le COVID-19, poussé à l'élimination complète de la maladie du sommeil, surveillé de près la résistance aux antibiotiques et suivi de près l'arrivée d'espèces exotiques de moustiques en Belgique. Chaque année, nous réalisons plus de 40 projets internationaux, publions plus de 400 publications évaluées par des pairs et coordonnons des dizaines d'essais cliniques.

100-jaar-ITG

Expansion

En 2001, trois fois plus de scientifiques travaillaient à l'IMT qu'au début. Nous avons donc commencé à chercher un campus supplémentaire. Par coïncidence, les religieuses situées plus bas dans la Sint-Rochusstraat ont vendu leur couvent du XVIIe siècle. Un beau monument protégé que nous avons pu transformer en un campus d'enseignement moderne grâce au soutien financier du Département des monuments et des sites, de la Loterie nationale et du Département de l'éducation. Ces travaux de rénovation se sont achevés en 2006, juste à temps pour notre centenaire.

Une réforme majeure a eu lieu en 2012. Les cinq départements scientifiques ont été réduits à trois. Les départements de parasitologie, de microbiologie, de sciences vétérinaires, de sciences cliniques et de santé publique ont été réduits aux départements de sciences biomédicales, de sciences cliniques et de santé publique. Sur le plan thématique, nous parlerons désormais des "trois P" : "pathogènes", "patients" et "populations". De cette façon, nous visons à accroître l'excellence scientifique et l'efficacité opérationnelle.

En 2021, nous avons commencé une analyse approfondie de notre infrastructure. Cela a débouché sur le plan directeur des bâtiments, qui s'est penché sur tous les aspects de la gestion de nos bâtiments. Le plan directeur oriente les futures rénovations et expansions, en tenant compte de l'innovation scientifique, de la durabilité et de la gestion du patrimoine.

tuberculosis-lab-itm-1

Centre d'excellence

Aujourd'hui, nous nous efforçons d'être à l'avant-garde internationale en matière de recherche, d'éducation et de services, dans le but ultime de résoudre des problèmes de santé réels.

L'IMT est une institution de recherche de renommée internationale. Nous sommes même plus que cela : une plaque tournante dans un réseau international avec des dizaines d'instituts partenaires.

Nous les aidons à renforcer leurs capacités en matière de recherche et de soins de santé. Et ensemble, nous nous efforçons de donner à tous les mêmes chances de mener une vie saine.