Department of Clinical Sciences

We investigate the diagnosis and treatment of tropical diseases, carry out clinical trials with new drugs, and study the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases, with special attention for STIs, HIV and TB.

Patients are the focal point of the research of our department. Our research fields include the diagnostics, prevention and treatment of the individual patient, with emphasis on tropical and infectious diseases including zoonoses, hiv/aids and tuberculosis.

Our expertise lies in descriptive and analytical pathology, laboratory medicine, pharmacology, medical decision sciences and clinical epidemiology. We also carry out clinical studies researching new means and medical technologies.

Head of Department: Johan van Griensven

Mission: to generate and disseminate clinical knowledge and to improve patient care by research, training and reference services in the field of tropical and global infectious diseases.

Spear points:

• Febrile illnesses in the tropics and in travellers
• Neglected tropical diseases
• Emerging and epidemic infectious diseases
• Tropical bacterial infections
• Antibiotic resistance and stewardship
• Sexually transmitted infections
• HIV & co-infections (tuberculosis, leishmaniasis, hepatitis C)

Research groups

Clinical Tropical Medicine Research Group

Department of Clinical Sciences

Read more

Tropical Laboratory Medicine Research Group

Department of Clinical Sciences

Read more

Medical Services

Department of Clinical Sciences

Read more

Management and administration

Aboulkassem Asma

aaboulkassem@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Adams Jasmien

jadams@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Aerts Martine

martineaerts@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Baert Ella

ebaert@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Baeten Elke

ebaeten@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Baudry Birgit

bbaudry@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Bruynseels Peter

pbruynseels@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Doudouh Anissa

adoudouh@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Mertens Kristel

mmissiaen@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Van Melle Danielle

dvmelle@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Van Steenbergen Julie

jvansteenbergen@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Van Wymeersch Katrien

kvanwymeersch@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Verhaegen Nadine

nverhaegen@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Vermeulen Anita

AVermeulen@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Vlieghe Erika

Researcher

Open positions

Research Fellow: Bioinformatician

Department of Clinical Sciences │Clinical Virology

Apply before 19 February 2023

(Junior) financieel analist medische diensten

Department of Clinical Sciences

Apply before 10 February 2023

Financieel projectbeheerder

Departement of Clinical Sciences │Management

Apply before 9 February 2023

Stay up to date with ITM's activities.

You will receive our newsletter once a month, right into your mailbox.