Department of Public Health

We study health systems (the organisation and operation of health services), epidemiology and disease control on population level.

The Department of Public Health (DPH) aims to empower populations to live healthy lives in complex dynamic environments. Together with our partners, we generate evidence on effective and sustainable interventions, systems and policies that contribute to protecting health for all. Our focus lies on vulnerable populations.

We are organised into dedicated research groups:

  • Health Systems and Health Policy Research Group
  • Non-Communicable Diseases Research Group
  • Sexual and Reproductive Health Research Group
  • Tropical Infectious Diseases Research Group

The expertise of our researchers includes:

  • Public health
  • Epidemiology
  • Health systems and policy
  • Social sciences

We strive to reduce the population burden of specific diseases, building on a life-course perspective of health determinants with a strong basis in local health systems. We believe these health systems should be accessible, integral, and efficient, and have a solid foundation in equity. We address both overall population risk and prevention, as well as interventions targeting patients, providers, and communities.

Our scientific activities involve communities, health services and relevant national and international policy organisations. Our research is synergistically linked to education and capacity strengthening, as well as to policy development.

Research groups

Health Systems and Health Policy Research Group

Department of Public Health

Read more

Sexual and Reproductive Health Research Group

Department of Public Health

Read more

Tropical Infectious Diseases Research Group

Department of Public Health

Read more

Non-communicable Diseases Research Group

Department of Public Health

Read more

Management and administration

Isa

Bogaert Isa

ibogaert@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Dai Min

mdai@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Persoonlijke_foto_blanco

De Kinder Linde

ldekinder@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

El Harrak Sanae

selharrak@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Everaert Renilde

reveraert@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Hilgert Marianne

MHilgert@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

profilepic1

Ielegems An

aielegems@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Janssens Annelies

ajanssens@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Laga Marie

MLaga@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Nuyts Nadine

nnuyts@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Philips Sara

sphilips@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Salomez Sabien

SSalomez@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Segers Gerlinde

gsegers@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Thoelen Anne

athoelen@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Trooskens Anne Marie

amtrooskens@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Van Aerde Kristien

kvanaerde@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Verlinden Rita

rverlinden@itg.be

Administrative and technical staff

Stay up to date with ITM's activities.

You will receive our newsletter once a month, right into your mailbox.